The Aquatic Toxicity Workshop (ATW) became a registered Canadian corporation in 1984, and is administered by a Board of Directors. The Board provides guidance on issues that may affect the future direction of the workshop series, and serves in an advisory capacity to the Organizing Committees.

In 2014, following two years of membership engagement on the workshop’s identity, the Board of Directors voted to modify the operating name to Canadian Ecotoxicity Workshop (CEW) to reflect the broader scope of ecological toxicology issues addressed at the annual workshop. The corporate name remains as The Canadian National Aquatic Toxicity Workshop.

CEW is held annually in a different region of Canada to draw interest among a wider group of ecotoxicologists and to gain a national perspective of current and emerging issues. These three-day workshops are traditionally held in the fall, where 200-400 participants take in over 150 platform and poster papers.

Each workshop is hosted by a local Organizing Committee on behalf on the Board. Workshops are organized on a two-year planning schedule, where arrangements for the date and location are finalized during the first year, and program and other details finalized the following year. Workshops are planned on a cost-recovery basis, with additional support from sponsorships.

The success of workshops has largely been due to attendees who have generously contributed their time in serving in various capacities. Further information about forthcoming workshops, and general information about the Workshop series may be obtained from those listed under Contacts.


When an individual registers and pays in full for CEW, he/she becomes a member for the period starting on the first day of the workshop for which he/she has registered and ending three weeks after the last day of the following workshop. This is typically a period of just over one year.

Members will have the right to vote on corporate resolutions and during elections.

Other than the full payment of registration fees, there are no dues payable to become a member of CEW.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for CEW is comprised of five (5) Directors.

On October 9, 2013, the following individuals were elected to CEW’s Board of Directors for a period of three (3) years:

  • Rosalie Allen-Jarvis, Chair
  • Dave Huebert, Vice-Chair
  • Gordon R. Craig

On October 1, 2014, the following individuals were elected to CEW’s Board of Directors for a period of three (3) years:

  • Guy Gilron
  • Lisa Taylor


The Board of Directors appoints Officers to take on the administration of CEW. The following individuals have been appointed as Officers:

Officer Position Term
Rosalie Allen-Jarvis President
At the pleasure of the Board
Dave Huebert Vice-President At the pleasure of the Board
Lisa Taylor ATW 2014 Organizing Committee Co-Chair October 2012 – October 2015
Carrie Rickwood ATW 2014 Organizing Committee Co-Chair October 2012 – October 2015
Karsten Liber CEW 2015 Organizing Committee Co-Chair October 2013 – October 2016
David Janz CEW 2015 Organizing Committee Co-Chair October 2013 – October 2016
Alexandra Muhametsafina Graduate Student Advisor February 2014 – January 2016
Jessica Leung Graduate Student Advisor February 2015 – January 2017

Articles of Incorporation

As a not-for-profit corporation, CEW must meet the requirements of the new Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act (NFP Act).

Copies of CEW’s Articles of Incorporation, which were confirmed by the CEW membership in a vote on October 9, 2013, are available by contacting Rosalie Allen Jarvis.


By-laws describe the responsibilities and regulate the activities of CEW as a corporation. By-laws must be confirmed by the CEW membership.

Bylaw  Description
2012-1 A by-law relating to the relocation of ATW’s head office from Burlington, Ontario to Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
2013-1 A by-law relating generally to the conduct of the affairs of ATW


Under the NFP Act, the CEW membership votes on resolutions to create, amend or dissolve by-laws. Copies of past member resolutions are available by contacting Rosalie Allen Jarvis. At least one resolution will be put to a members’ vote at the next Annual General Meeting on October 6, 2015 with the option to vote by proxy.

Resolutions Description
2015-1 Unanimous resolution to not appoint a public accountant.

Standard Operating Procedure

Groups interested in hosting a future workshop are required to submit a written proposal. A standard operating procedure (SOP) exists to guide Organizing Committees. Those interested in hosting a future workshop are encouraged to contact Dave Huebert for a copy of the SOP.

Financial Statements

Under the NFP Act, effective 2014, CEW is required to publish a notice stating the availability of annual financial statements. Members will receive an electronic copy of annual financial statements upon request.